Pine Tree ISD Beacon Award 

Regen Stiles Teaching Excellence Award Sponsored by:
Stile Logo
PT Honors

The Pine Tree Education Foundation established the annual Beacon Awards and Regen Stiles Teaching Excellence Award for the purpose of recognizing district employees who have made a life changing impression on a student during their time in Pine Tree schools. The Beacon Award Winners and The Regen Stiles Teaching Excellence Award Winner are honored at the annual PT Honors Banquet.  This year, to celebrate and recognize our incredible recipients, we will surprise each winner during the month of May on their campus and present an engraved award.  

  • Pine Tree Primary Teacher Michelle Stroman recognized by student Nolan Cheyney

    Birch Elementary Teacher Belinda Almanza recognized by student Keinsli Portley

    Parkway Elementary Teacher Stacy James recognized by student Kellan Allison

    Pine Tree Middle School Teacher Meagan Boswell recognized by student Addyson Saunders

    Pine Tree Junior High Teacher Amber Counts recognized by student Kiley Salser

    Pine Tree High School Teacher Melissa Wright  recognized by student Shaun Ray

    Pine Tree High School Teacher Terri Davis recognized by student Kameron Benefield

    ExCEL High School Teacher Jennifer Wilbur recognized by student Jhizah Hayes

    Middle School Custodian Timothy Hatten recognized by student High School Marshall Daugbjerg

    Pine Tree Bus Driver Kendra Deshields recognized by Parkway student Zayden Cabrera and Middle School Student Jordan Dulaney

  • How are the awards determined? 
    Current Pine Tree students make nominations in the form of an essay sharing how a teacher or school employee has influenced their life and why they appreciate and admire them. This is an opportunity for students to express themselves in writing, and to say “thank you” to a special person for making a difference in their lives. 

    Who may be nominated?

    Students are encouraged to write about any district employee (ex: teacher, librarian, coach, principal, cafeteria employee, bus driver, custodian) on their campus. All entries received at the PTEF office by the deadline are judged by a qualified panel of judges, based on a specific criteria. 

    When is the deadline for turning in essays?

    Teachers may schedule writing essays as time permits. The deadline for this contest is February 15, 2021.

    Selection of Winners:  

    No doubt, it is an incredibly difficult task to pick only a few winners from among so many outstanding employees. However, after receiving the essays from the campuses, a Foundation committee is assigned to read the tributes and select winning essays. These employees and the student essay writers will be honored at the PT Honors Annual Banquet. One of the honorees will be selected to receive the prestigious Regen Stiles Teaching Excellence Award.

    Criteria for judging was based on:

    Compelling nature of teacher's or staff members inspiring qualities, sincerity of student's appreciation, and the quality of expression and writing. 

    When and how will the nominees be honored? 

    The nominated persons and the students writing the winning essays are recognized at the PT Honors Award Dinner.

    Highlights from each winning essay will be used. Photographs of the student and honoree are used in various publications and on the campus of the honorees. Each of the student authors of the winning essays and the teacher or staff member will receive a a special award acknowledging their achievement. 

2021 Sponsors 

Beacon Award Sponsors 
Allied Trophy
Barksdale Federal Credit Union
Global Graphics
Sylvan Learning Center
Texas Banka nd Trust
Oak Forest
Class of 1964
Regen Stiles Teaching Excellence Award
Regen Stiles Family
Proud Supporter

Austin Bank

Charlene Ingram State Farm Insurance

Elite Repeats 

Horace Mann - The Micah Devendorf Agency

Ion Security and Investigation

Jim and Leah Finley

Spring Hill State Bank

The Clowers Company

For sponsorship information contact Melissa Gonzalez at [email protected]